Catch The Ball, My Not-So-Secret Android Project

Catch The Ball, My Not-So-Secret Android Project

So lately I’ve been working on something pretty major — a fully animated 2D game for the Android mobile operating system. The object of the game is simple: Catch the ball. So what makes this challenging you might ask? Well, as you progress through levels, the ball gets increasingly faster. In fact, at the moment, I have it moving at 7X the starting speed at the hardest difficulty. You have to catch the ball within a certain time limit, or else you lose. The amount of time you have depends on the difficulty level. Also, every time you miss the ball, you lose a second. This game is very simple, but it’s my first Android game, and I decided I’d share it with you guys before it’s done. Because it’s so simple, it will probably be 100% free in the Android market, and right now, I have no plans to put any advertisements in the game. However, that may change in the future, depending on how much money I make from my other applications. Did I mention this game is open source software? That’s right… not only am I releasing this game for free under version 3 of the GNU General Public License, but the full source code is already available on github! This is my first open source Android project, and others are more than welcome to help with the development process! Keep in mind that the code is in a relatively early state, and there are still a few bugs to be worked out before this game reaches a state where I feel comfortable shipping it. The difficulties are subject to change, but right now, here’s what I have planned:

Easy Mode: 12 seconds

Medium Mode: 9 seconds

Hard Mode: 6 seconds

Insane Mode: 3 seconds (!!!)

Also, I have the NullWire Trace.jar file included in the project by default. Basically, if the program crashes on anyone’s device, logs (stack traces) will be sent to NullWire’s servers, to help fix bugs and crashes. These logs are available on the page for the catch the ball package at trace.nullwire.com. In addition to updates about my other projects, check back often, as I will be posting news and screenshots of Catch The Ball as I develop it further.

Leave a Reply

